GCI Open North American Championship

The GCI Open North American Championship (ONAC) is the premiere sled dog sprint race in the world, attracting the best sprint mushers from the United States, Canada, Europe, and Japan. The three-day race is run every year in March from downtown Fairbanks, Alaska, with heats of 20 miles the first two days, and a grueling 30-mile heat on the final day.

The ONAC is the oldest continuously run sled dog race of any kind in the world. First run in 1946, the 2010 race was the 65th running.

A complete history of past champions is available.

ONAC driver heading down 2nd Ave

ONAC Quick Facts

Race inception


Race location

Fairbanks, Alaska

Defending champion

2010: Egil Ellis, Willow, Alaska (USA)

Most wins

Egil Ellis—10
George Attla—8
Roland Lombard—6

Most consecutive wins

Egil Ellis—4
Horace Smoke—3
Roland Lombard—3